Eleanor Stopps award nominations being accepted

Peninsula Daily News

print Print This | Email This

Most Popular this week

Want more top stories? Sign up here for daily or weekly newsletters with our top news.

PORT TOWNSEND — The Port Townsend Marine Science Center is seeking nominations for the 2012 Eleanor Stopps Environmental Leadership Award.

The award recognizes people on the North Olympic Peninsula who are stewards of the environment and have demonstrated leadership in efforts to protect the natural world.

Nominations must be submitted to the marine science center before 5 p.m. Aug. 31.

The winner and runners-up will be honored at the marine science center’s Stewardship Breakfast at the Fort Worden Commons at 8 a.m. Oct. 4.

Stopps, who died of cancer in April at the age of 92, was responsible for the 1982 establishment of the Protection Island National Wildlife Refuge, the only refuge created during the Reagan administration.

With no special political base or powerful financial backers, Stopps — a housewife and mother — testified before the state Legislature and the U.S. Congress and persuaded Congress through tireless letter-writing and lobbying over a decade to grant Protection Island national wildlife refuge status.

The island near the mouth of Discovery Bay in the Strait of Juan de Fuca is home to more than 75 percent of the seabirds that nest in the state, excluding the Pacific coast, and contains one of the last two nesting colonies of tufted puffins in the Puget Sound area.

Since 2005, Stopps’ legacy of citizen leadership has been recognized through the annual award.

Previous winners, by year, are:

■ 2005 — Katharine Baril, who was then a natural resource educator and planner for Washington State University.

■ 2006 — Anne Murphy, executive director, Port Townsend Marine Science Center.

■ 2007 — Tom Jay and Sara Mall Johani, artists and environmentalists.

■ 2008 — Al Latham, Jefferson County Conservation District ranger.

■ 2009 — Peter Bahls, Northwest Watershed Institute director.

■ 2010 — Sarah Spaeth, executive director, Jefferson Land Trust.

■ 2011 — Dick and Marie Goin of Port Angeles, for their involvement in salmon restoration projects across the Peninsula and in Olympic National Park.

For more information, and to get nomination forms, contact Brian Kay at info@ptmsc.org or at 360-385-5582.

Nominations must be received by email to info@ptmsc.org or by delivering it or mailing it to the Port Townsend Marine Science Center, 532 Battery Way, Port Townsend, WA 98368.

For more about the marine life center, visit www.ptmsc.org.

Last modified: August 18. 2012 5:37PM
Reader Comments
Local Business
Friends to Follow

To register a complaint about a comment, email moderator@peninsuladailynews.com and refer to the article and offending comment, or click here: REPORT ABUSE.

Peninsuladailynews.com comments are subject to the Peninsuladailynews.com User Policy.

From the PDN:

All materials Copyright © 2017 Black Press Ltd./Sound Publishing Inc. • Terms of UsePrivacy PolicyAssociated Press Privacy PolicyAssociated Press Terms of UseContact Us