SPORTS: Sequim dominates volleyball all-league honors

print Print This | Email This

Most Popular this week

Want more top stories? Sign up here for daily or weekly newsletters with our top news.

Peninsula Daily News

Sequim’s Haleigh Harrison, who signed a letter-of-intent to play volleyball at Western Washington University on Friday, was named the Olympic League’s MVP.

A front-row player who led the Wolves in kills and blocks on the year, Harrison made the all-league first team along with Sequim setter Taylor Balkan.

The senior duo sparked the Wolves to an undefeated regular season, winning both the league and West Central District championships.

Sequim finished a win away from placing at the 2A state tournament.

The Wolves dominated all-league voting with a conference high four players selected to the first and second teams.

Making the second team for Sequim were junior libero Hannah Hudson and junior outside hitter Lex Besand.

Port Angeles and Port Townsend both had one player named to the second team.

Junior outside hitter Madison Hinrichs was named to the team for the Roughriders while sophomore setter Abbey McGuire made the squad for the Redskins.

The Riders had two honorable mentions, including junior setter Holli Williams and junior libero Kendra Harvey while Sequim sophomore defensive specialist Emma LeBlanc and Port Townsend sophomore libero Megan Lee also were honorable mentions.

Sequim coach Jennie Webber-Heilman was named co-coach of the year along with Klahowya’s Dragan Karadzic and Olympic’s Keith Peden.

In addition, Sequim and Port Angeles share the league sportsmanship award (See photo on Page B4 of the two teams displaying sportsmanship during the district tournament).

North Kitsap’s Jennifer Gell was named the league MVP defensive player.

Nisqually honors

The Chimacum Cowboys had two volleyball players honored by the Nisqually League.

Junior Lauren Thacker was named to the all-league second team while junior Megan Dukek made honorable mention.

The Cowboys also won the team sportsmanship award.

Chimacum also had 10 players named to the scholar-athlete team for a grade-point average of 3.5 or better.

They were Olivia Baird, Julia Casal, Brittany Conn, Dukek, Alyssa Hamilton, Chelsey Johnson, Alina Preston-Anderson, Audrey Thacker, Lauren Thacker and Kim Wheeler.

In addition, team awards were given out recently with Kristen Castillo earning most improved honors, Lauren Thacker the team MVP, Rachel Castaneda the most inspirational and Dukek took the coaches award/hardest worker.

For the JV team, Casal was the most improved while Chelsey Johnson took MVP honors, Sophia Thurston was most inspirational and Preston-Anderson took home the coaches award.

Last modified: November 17. 2012 5:12PM
Reader Comments
Local Business
Friends to Follow

To register a complaint about a comment, email and refer to the article and offending comment, or click here: REPORT ABUSE. comments are subject to the User Policy.

From the PDN:

All materials Copyright © 2017 Black Press Ltd./Sound Publishing Inc. • Terms of UsePrivacy PolicyAssociated Press Privacy PolicyAssociated Press Terms of UseContact Us