SPORTS: Sequim's Brocklesby, Neah Bay's Doherty and Moss named to basketball all-state teams

Peninsula Daily News

print Print This | Email This

Most Popular this week

Want more top stories? Sign up here for daily or weekly newsletters with our top news.

SEATTLE — Three North Olympic Peninsula basketball players received all-state honors Monday.

Sequim senior Jayson Brocklesby was named to the Class 2A second team while Neah Bay senior Leyton Doherty was selected for the 1B second team.

The only area girl to make the all-state team was Neah Bay junior Cierra Moss, who was named to the 1B second team.

Brocklesby averaged 20.4 points and 4.9 rebounds per game for the Wolves, who took sixth place in the 2A state tournament last month.

Doherty averaged 11.3 points per game, 4.2 rebounds, 2.4 steals and 2.2 assists for the 1B state runners-up Red Devils.

Moss led the Neah Bay girls in scoring with 17.1 points and 9.1 rebounds per game.

Bothell senior Zach LaVine and Mount Rainier junior Brittany McPhee have been voted the 2013 Associated Press Washington state basketball players of the year.

LaVine and McPhee were also the respective players of the year in Class 4A when the all-state teams were announced Monday.

LaVine edged out Class 3A player of the year D.J. Fenner of Seattle Prep for the honor, while McPhee was a unanimous selection.

LaVine, who has signed with UCLA, led the Seattle area, averaging 28.3 points per game.

McPhee averaged 26.5 points, 12.4 rebounds, 3.3 blocks and was the MVP of the Class 4A state tournament.

She was the Class 4A player of the year in 2012.

Fenner was voted player of the year in Class 3A following a senior season at Seattle Prep where he averaged 27.3 points per game.

Pullman senior Corey Langerveld was voted the Class 2A player of the year after leading his team to the state championship.

Langerveld was the MVP of the Class 2A state tournament.

Brennan Rakoz of Toledo was voted the Class 1A player of the year, while Brandon Gfeller of Colfax repeated as the 2B player of the year. Sunnyside Christian's Brandon Broersma was the 1B player of the year, a season that included a triple-double in the state title game.

On the girls side, Cleveland junior Makala Roper added the 3A state player of the year to honors that already included the Metro League and 3A state tournament MVP awards. Mark Morris sophomore Kourtney Eaton was voted the 2A player of the year in helping lead the Monarchs to the state title.

Her sister Karly was voted to the second team.

Classes 1A, 2B and 1B all featured unanimous player of the year selections.

Brewster's Chandler Smith was the 1A selection; Arizona State-bound senior Kelsey Moos of Reardan was the 2B honoree; and Colton junior Jenne Moser was voted the 1B player of the year.

Last modified: April 02. 2013 10:36AM
Reader Comments
Local Business
Friends to Follow

To register a complaint about a comment, email and refer to the article and offending comment, or click here: REPORT ABUSE. comments are subject to the User Policy.

From the PDN:

All materials Copyright © 2017 Black Press Ltd./Sound Publishing Inc. • Terms of UsePrivacy PolicyAssociated Press Privacy PolicyAssociated Press Terms of UseContact Us