CLALLAM ELECTION YEAR PREVIEW: 44 local seats up for grabs this year

By Paul Gottlieb
Peninsula Daily News

print Print This | Email This

Most Popular this week

Want more top stories? Sign up here for daily or weekly newsletters with our top news.

PORT ANGELES — Election season begins in earnest in Clallam County in two weeks.

That’s when voting-age citizens who want to run for office in the Nov. 5 general election must make their intentions official.

Candidates must file their declarations of candidacy the week of May 13-17 to run for any of the 44 seats on the 21 elected councils, boards and commissions on which the elected positions are up for grabs.

These potential public officials will compete for voters’ approval to pass budgets, set policies and represent voters — and taxpayers — in political entities in Clallam County ranging from the Port of Port Angeles to the Sequim-area SunLand Water District.

The declaration of candidacy can be filed in person at the county elections office in the basement of the county courthouse, 223 E. Fourth St. in Port Angeles, between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. each day during filing week.

They also can be filed by printing out a declaration available at a county web page devoted solely to aspiring candidates at and by mailing a completed declaration to the elections office at Clallam County Elections, 223 E. Fourth St., Suite 1, Port Angeles WA 98362.

The page includes an “Election Steps for Candidates” that outlines the process in a question-and-answer format.

But take note: Declarations must be received by the elections office by 4:30 p.m. May 17 to be valid.

They cannot simply be postmarked on that date, county Elections Supervisor Shoona Radon said Friday.

Election officials say that so far, they have received few if any inquiries from potential candidates.

All the positions are nonpartisan.

“Because these are nonpartisan offices, we could possibly not even have a primary election,” county Auditor Patty Rosand said last week.

If three or more candidates file for a position, they will advance to the Aug. 6 primary, with the winners advancing to the Nov. 5 general election.

If three or more candidates file for the Sequim-area Port of Port Angeles commission seat held by incumbent Paul McHugh, the primary will be confined to the commissioner-district boundaries, which are the same as those for the Clallam County commissioner

Candidates must be registered voters in the area in which they are running for office.

City Council candidates have an extra residency requirement: They must have been residents for at least a year as of Nov. 5 in the cities they wish to represent.

Within two weeks of becoming a candidate, potential public officeholders also must file separate financial affairs and candidate registration forms with the state Public Disclosure Commission.

Candidates also must pay filing fees that equal 1 percent of the salary they would be paid if elected, not including the per-diem payments, but pay nothing in filing fees if they do not receive a salary.

That means that in Clallam County, only candidates for the Port of Port Angeles commission, Port Angeles City Council and Sequim City Council must pay filing fees. There are no filing fees for any other positions.

Those fees can be paid only in cash or by check. Credit cards are not accepted.

If a person cannot afford to pay a filing fee, the potential candidate must complete a filing-fee petition available at the county website.

The petition must contain at least one signature per dollar of the filing fee, and those signing it must be registered voters in the jurisdiction in which the candidate is running.

Here is a list of positions up for election that includes the position, the number of years in each term and the person now filling the seat:

■   Port of Port Angeles: Commissioner, District 1 — Paul L. McHugh, six-year term; $24 filing fee.

■ Forks Community Hospital, hospital district 1: Commissioner, District 1 — Daisy E. Anderson, six-year term.

■   Olympic Medical Center, hospital district 2: Commissioner, District 1, Position 1 — John E. Beitzel, six-year term; Commissioner, District 1, Position 2 — J. Thomas Oblak, two-year unexpired term; Commissioner, District 2, Position 2 — Jean C. Hordyk, six-year term.

■   City of Forks: Mayor — Bryon D. Monohon; Council Position 2 — John Hillcar; Council Position 3 — Bruce Guckenberg; all are four-year terms.

■   City of Port Angeles: Council Position 1 — Brad Collins; Council Position 2 — Max Mania; Council Position 3 — Patrick Downie; Council Position 4 — Brooke Nelson; four-year terms; $66 filling fee.

■   City of Sequim: Council Position 3 — Ted Miller; Council Position 4 — Dennis L. Smith; Council Position 5 — Genaveve Starr; four-year terms; $18 filing fee.

■   Port Angeles School District 121: Director, Position 1 — Sarah Methner; Director, Position 2 — Cindy Kelly; four-year terms.

■   Crescent School District 313: Director, Position 1 — Holly Rose, four-year term; Director, Position 2 — Sandra M. Criss, four-year term; Director, Position 5 — Dara Peppard, two-year unexpired term.

■   Sequim School District 323: Director, District 2 — Virginia O’Dell; Director-at-large, Position 4 — Beverly Horan; four-year terms.

■   Cape Flattery School District 401: Director, District 1 — Shirley M. Johnson; Director, District 3 — John Stubbs; four-year terms.

■   Quillayute Valley School District 402: Director, District 2 — Rick Gale; Director, District 4 — Brian Pederson; four-year terms.

■   Fire District 1, Forks: Commissioner 3 — David R. Burt; Commissioner 4 — Lew McGill; six-year terms.

■   Fire District 2, Port Angeles area: Commissioner 3 — Richard E. Ruud, six-year term.

■   Fire District 3, Sequim: Commissioner 3 — James Barnfather, six-year term.

■   Fire District 4, Joyce: Commissioner 3 — Sam Nugent; Commissioner 5 — Chris Christie; six-year terms.

■   Fire District 5, Clallam Bay/Sekiu: Commissioner 2 — George Eastman, two-year unexpired term; Commissioner 3 — Jeffry J. Kopis, six-year term.

■   Fire District 6, Forks-LaPush area: Commissioner 1 — Scott Horton, four-year unexpired term; Commissioner 2 — Robert Keen, six-year term.

■   Park and Recreation District 1 (SARC): Commissioner 1 — Susan R. Sorensen; Commissioner 2 — Frank Pickering; four-year terms.

■   Park and Recreation District Quillayute: Commissioner, Position 1 — Donald N. Grafstrom, four-year term; Commissioner, Position 2 — Laura Huling, four-year term; Commissioner, Position 3 — William Peach, two-year unexpired term.

■   Black Diamond Water District: Commissioner, District 1 — Ann M. O’Rourke, four-year unexpired term; Commissioner, District 3 — James Heflin, six-year term.

■   SunLand Water District: Commissioner, Position 1 — Jim Larison, six-year term.


Senior Staff Writer Paul Gottlieb can be reached at 360-452-2345, ext. 5060, or at

Last modified: April 27. 2013 6:07PM
Reader Comments
Local Business
Friends to Follow

To register a complaint about a comment, email and refer to the article and offending comment, or click here: REPORT ABUSE. comments are subject to the User Policy.

From the PDN:

All materials Copyright © 2017 Black Press Ltd./Sound Publishing Inc. • Terms of UsePrivacy PolicyAssociated Press Privacy PolicyAssociated Press Terms of UseContact Us