10 more candidates file in Clallam races

By Rob Ollikainen
Peninsula Daily News

print Print This | Email This

Most Popular this week

Want more top stories? Sign up here for daily or weekly newsletters with our top news.

PORT ANGELES — The primary election race for Port of Port Angeles commissioner this year will include an incumbent commissioner and a port employee.

Colleen McAleer, port director of business development, filed election forms with the Clallam County Auditor’s Office on Thursday to challenge incumbent Port Commissioner Paul McHugh and Del DelaBarre in Sequim-area District 1.

McAleer was one of 10 candidates who filed to run for county public office on the fourth day of filing week for the Nov. 5 election.

A total of 51 candidates had filed at the close of business Thursday.

If more than two candidates file for one position, they all will face off in the Aug. 6 primary, with the top two vote-getters advancing to the general election.

As of Thursday, three races were headed for primaries: port commissioner, Sequim School Board and Clallam County Fire District No. 3.

Craig Stevenson, John Clark Yeo and Clallam County Public Utility District Executive Communications Coordinator Michael Howe each has filed to run for the Sequim School Board seat held by Virginia O’Neil, who had not filed as of Thursday.

Incumbent James Barnfather will face Charles Perdomo and Sean Ryan in the race for Fire District No. 3 commissioner, Position 3.

Forty-four seats are up for grabs on the governing boards of the Port of Port Angeles; the cities of Port Angeles, Sequim and Forks; and the school, hospital, fire and water districts.

All the positions are nonpartisan.

Here are the candidates who filed Thursday:

■ Colleen McAleer — Port of Port Angeles commissioner, District 1.

■ Former Port of Port Angeles Commissioner Bill Hannan — Olympic Medical Center commissioner, District 2, Position 2.

■ Lee Whetham — Port Angeles City Council, Position 2.

■ Janet Hughes, Forks mayor.

■ Bill Brager — Forks City Council, Position 3.

■ Incumbent John Stubbs — Cape Flattery School Board, District 3.

■ Incumbent Rick Gale — Quillayute Valley School Board, District 2.

■ Incumbent Robert “Chip” Keen — Clallam County Fire District No. 6 commissioner, Position 2.

■ Incumbent Laura L. Huling — Quillayute Valley Park and Recreation District, Position 2.

■ Incumbent James Heflin — Black Diamond Water District commissioner, District 3.

Those are added to the 24 who filed Monday, eight who filed Tuesday and nine who filed Wednesday.

Candidates can file their declarations of candidacy for any seats in person at the Auditor’s Office in the basement of the courthouse, 223 E. Fourth St. between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. today.

Last modified: May 16. 2013 5:52PM
Reader Comments
Local Business
Friends to Follow

To register a complaint about a comment, email moderator@peninsuladailynews.com and refer to the article and offending comment, or click here: REPORT ABUSE.

Peninsuladailynews.com comments are subject to the Peninsuladailynews.com User Policy.

From the PDN:

All materials Copyright © 2017 Black Press Ltd./Sound Publishing Inc. • Terms of UsePrivacy PolicyAssociated Press Privacy PolicyAssociated Press Terms of UseContact Us