Wanted: A few good Jefferson County heroes for Heart of Service award

By Peninsula Daily News staff

print Print This | Email This

Most Popular this week

Want more top stories? Sign up here for daily or weekly newsletters with our top news.

NOW IS THE time to nominate your local hero.

We are looking for people who make a difference in Jefferson County, individuals who have made our communities a better place.

The three Rotary Clubs in Jefferson County and the Peninsula Daily News invite nominations for the 2014 Jefferson County Heart of Service award.

The Heart of Service recognizes the dedication, sacrifice and accomplishments of local people who do extraordinary things for their neighbors, their community or the environment.

The award — now in its ninth year — is sponsored by the Rotary Club of Port Townsend (noon club), the Port Townsend Sunrise Rotary Club, the East Jefferson Rotary Club and the PDN.

“This award gives us the opportunity to highlight the good works of ordinary people in Jefferson County who unselfishly give their time and energy to help others,” said John Brewer, PDN editor and publisher.

“These build community. They are truly local heroes, working to make life here stronger, tighter, happier, richer.”

How to nominate

■ Nominations must be made using the accompanying coupon and must be submitted to the Peninsula Daily News' Jefferson County office, 1939 E. Sims Way, Port Townsend, WA 98368, by 5 p.m. Monday, March 24.

■ A letter describing the merits and accomplishments of the person being nominated must be included with the coupon.

It should cite examples of the individual's special dedication, sacrifices and significant accomplishments in community service.

■ If possible, the nomination should include supporting documents, such as copies (not originals) of other awards, newspaper articles or letters of support.

■ Individuals, clubs, churches, businesses or other organizations may nominate.

But only individuals, not organizations, can be nominees.

■ Anyone who lives in Jefferson County can be nominated.

Recipients of the Heart of Service in the past are not eligible for a 2014 award.

But those previously nominated but not selected for a Heart of Service are eligible for renomination.

What happens

A panel of judges will review the nominations and select one to six people to receive a Heart of Service at a luncheon in May.

The recipients receive framed award certificates and heart-shaped medals designed by Steve Rafoth, past president of the Rotary noon club and president and CEO of Enclume Design Products in Port Hadlock.

If you have any questions about the program, please phone Brewer at his direct number, 360-417-3500 (if he's not in, there's 24/7 voice mail).

Or email Brewer at john.brewer@peninsuladailynews.com.

2013 honorees

Last year, judges selected 10 individuals from more than two dozen nominations made by individuals, clubs, churches, businesses and other organizations.

It was the largest group of honorees in the Heart of Service's history — and the first time one of the awards had been presented posthumously:

■ “The Three Amigos”: Don Bolen, Ernie Jaap and Fred Spann. A telecommunications business executive, an airline pilot and a rocket scientist, all retired, they have quietly and unassumingly made themselves indispensable at Dove House Advocacy Services in Port Townsend through hundreds of hours of volunteer work and by forming positive relationships with Dove House's clients.

■ Cass and Tom Brotherton, a couple with their hands elbow-deep in everything Quilcene who, since moving to the close-knit community eight years ago, have worked unflinchingly to improve their adopted home.

■ Jim “Kiwi” Ferris and the late Charlie Moore, Port Townsend business owners with boat-building in their blood and community service in their hearts who spent years donating their time and energy to fundraising and nonprofit efforts.

■ Linda Kostenbader, a longtime member of the East Jefferson Rotary Club who shares her talents, energy and passion for community service with the student members of Chimacum High School's Rotary Interact Club.

■ Christopher Pieper, a dedicated and motivated Chimacum High School student who has devoted much of himself to community service.

■ Seth Rolland, a local food advocate whose organizational skills have helped secure sustainable sources of fresh fruit for both Port Townsend students and the city's food bank.

2012 honorees

Three individuals and two couples received the 2012 Heart of Service:

■ Judith Alexander of Port Townsend for her leadership in many environmental and community sustainability efforts, including Local 20/20, Citizens for Local Food and the Food Resiliency Action Group.

■ Melanie and Steve Bozak, a husband-and-wife duo who has been a driving force behind the Port Townsend Rhododendron Festival.

The couple also have contributed thousands of volunteer hours to the Jefferson County community through the Port Townsend Kiwanis Club.

■ Bob and Winona Prill of Quilcene, cited in nomination letters for their “goodness and generosity” and “patient and quiet leadership” with the Quilcene Food Bank, Quilcene Historical Museum, Quilcene Community Center, Quilcene Garden Club, Quilcene Fair and Parade Association, Habitat for Humanity of East Jefferson County and many other organizations.

■ Anne Schneider of Port Townsend, whose “insight, vision, analytical skills, ability to organize procedures and skill in working harmoniously with others are what make her a true change agent” with nonprofits ranging from the Centrum board of directors and the Port Townsend chapter of the American Association of University Women to Working Image, the Northwest Maritime Center and other groups.

■ Bill Wise, hands-on visionary co-founder and chairman of EDC Team Jefferson, the county's public-private economic development organization.

Other honorees

■ 2011 — Nora Porter, Joe Carey, Deborah Stinson and Myron Vogt.

■ 2010 — Shirley Moss, Gay Eisenberger, Mike Blair and Margaret Matheson.

■ 2009 — Robert Rosen, Janet Emery, Dr. James Rotchford, Larry Robinson and Wayne Chimenti.

■ 2008 — Candy Johnston, Virgil Porter, Sue and Bill McIntire, Helen Kullman and Alison Capener.

■ 2007 — Linda Ferris, Kim Hammers, Dyrk Lansdon, Martina Richard and Dr. John Barrett.

■ 2006 — Andy Mackie, Peggy Schafran, Bruce Marston and Pat and Ralph Williams.

Last modified: January 18. 2014 5:09PM
Reader Comments
Local Business
Friends to Follow

To register a complaint about a comment, email moderator@peninsuladailynews.com and refer to the article and offending comment, or click here: REPORT ABUSE.

Peninsuladailynews.com comments are subject to the Peninsuladailynews.com User Policy.

From the PDN:

All materials Copyright © 2017 Black Press Ltd./Sound Publishing Inc. • Terms of UsePrivacy PolicyAssociated Press Privacy PolicyAssociated Press Terms of UseContact Us