25 young chefs vie for top honors at Port Angeles food challenge
Click here to zoom...
Keith Thorpe/Peninsula Daily News
Camille Stensgard, a fifth-grade student at Roosevelt Elementary School in Port Angeles, prepares a plate of sandwich bites during last week’s Future Chefs: Healthy Sandwich Challenge at Port Angeles High School.

Peninsula Daily News

print Print This | Email This

Most Popular this week

Want more top stories? Sign up here for daily or weekly newsletters with our top news.

PORT ANGELES — Twenty-five Port Angeles elementary students will compete in a district contest after they were selected in Sodexo's Future Chefs: Healthy Sandwich Challenge in the Port Angeles High School kitchen and cafeteria.

Fifty students submitted healthy sandwich recipes.

Various criteria

Finalists prepared and presented their creations to judges while being assessed on criteria such as originality, taste, presentation, kid-friendliness and use of healthy ingredients.

Sodexo General Manager of Food Services Kathy Crowley announced the following winners for the award categories:

■ Ella Holland, Franklin Elementary School, grand-prize winner for “GobbleCado Rollers.”

■ Carma Langmack, Jefferson Elementary School, easy prep for “Peanut Butter Jelly Time.”

■ Anne Edwards, Dry Creek Elementary School, kid-friendly for “Quesadilla on the Fly.”

■ Shinia Kildall, Franklin Elementary, originality for “Sushi Sandwich.”

■ Mariah Jensen, Hamilton Elementary School, healthy attributes for “Mariah's Tex-Mex Pita.”

■ Breanna Schafer, Roosevelt Elementary School, taste for “California Rolling.”

The national program was created to get students thinking about making healthy food choices in life while encouraging them to get active and creative in the kitchen.

Grand-prize winner Ella will be considered for regional finalist awards.

Other finalists were:

■ Dry Creek Elementary: Donavyn Brousseau, Anne, Morgan Gidney, Nicholas Scott Hillman and Polly Price.

■ Franklin Elementary: Amelie A. Atwater, Ava Brenkman, Nathan Lewis Carroll, Ella and Shinia.

■ Hamilton Elementary: Alex Delgado, Israel Gonzalez, Mariah, Mary Shore and Celeste Tucker.

■ Jefferson Elementary: Madison Deese, Michaella Elliott, Emi Halberg, Tayler Jade Huger and Carma.

■ Roosevelt Elementary: Morgan Lasher, Lydia Sandberg, Breanna, Angelina Sprague and Camille Stensgard.

Last modified: March 18. 2014 5:17PM
Reader Comments
Local Business
Friends to Follow

To register a complaint about a comment, email moderator@peninsuladailynews.com and refer to the article and offending comment, or click here: REPORT ABUSE.

Peninsuladailynews.com comments are subject to the Peninsuladailynews.com User Policy.

From the PDN:

All materials Copyright © 2017 Black Press Ltd./Sound Publishing Inc. • Terms of UsePrivacy PolicyAssociated Press Privacy PolicyAssociated Press Terms of UseContact Us