Hopefuls queue up for start of filing week in Jefferson County

By Charlie Bermant and Paul Gottlieb
Peninsula Daily News

print Print This | Email This

Most Popular this week

Want more top stories? Sign up here for daily or weekly newsletters with our top news.

PORT TOWNSEND — Several candidates were lined up outside the door of the Jefferson County Auditor’s Office on Monday morning, ready to file for offices up for election this year.

The first candidate was Deputy Auditor Rose Ann Carroll, who hopes to replace current Auditor Donna Eldridge, who is retiring.

“She didn’t get any preference,” said Elections Supervisor Betty Johnson.

“She had to wait outside the door in order to get in like everybody else.”

The early risers and the offices they filed for were Carroll, 63, a Democrat; Stacie Hoskins, 43, filing for treasurer as a Democrat; Jeff Chapman, 62, for assessor as a Democrat; Scott Rosekrans, 62, seeking the prosecuting attorney post as a Democrat; Ken Przygocki, 66, running for sheriff under no party; and Kenneth Collins, 67, and Tony DeLeo, 65, both pursuing the nonpartisan position of District 2 Public Utility District commissioner.

Later in the morning, incumbent PUD Commissioner Ken McMillen, 81, filed for a fourth term; Judy Maves-Klatt, 52, filed for auditor as a Democrat; and Ruth Gordon, 60, filed as a Democrat for a third term as Superior Court clerk.

Three candidates filed for District 3 county commissioner: Kathleen Kler, 63, Democrat; Joe Baisch, 66, no party stated; and Dan Toepper, 52, no party stated.

Two candidates have filed for the county’s sole District Court judge position.

Incumbent Jill Landes is seeking a third term, with former Jefferson County Deputy Prosecutor Cheryl Potebnya challenging.

Those who have declared their intention to run but had not filed are Michael Haas, 53, running for prosecuting attorney as a Democrat; and Dena Jones, 58, running for treasurer as a Republican.

This year, county government is headed for a considerable turnover, with County Commissioner John Austin, Auditor Donna Eldridge, Sheriff Tony Hernandez and Treasurer Judi Morris not seeking re-election. Appointed Assessor Jeff Chapman is facing voters for the first time.

Chapman, Gordon and Przygocki are the only candidates without declared opposition.

Jefferson County Democratic Chair George Yount said his party has “a really great candidate” for sheriff in the middle of the recruitment process, and hopes are to make an announcement Wednesday.

The candidate filing period takes place from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. through Friday.

After filing week ends, the candidates will advance to the Aug. 5 primary, ballots for which are mailed to registered voters July 16.

The North Olympic Peninsula Primary Election Guide, prepared and published by the Peninsula Daily News, will appear in print and online July 18.

If there are more than two candidates for a position, the top two vote-getters will advance to the Nov. 4 general election.

With only two candidates filing for a position, it is assumed they will both advance to the general election unless a write-in candidate comes in second.

The assessor, auditor, clerk and treasurer draw a $71,980 yearly salary ,while a county commissioner earns $63,925, and the sheriff makes $85,015.

District court judges see $145,544 a year, while the prosecutor earns $128,507.

Filing fees for each office are 1 percent of the total salary.

Port Angeles native and freshman 6th Congressional District Rep. Derek Kilmer, D-Gig Harbor, also submitted his paperwork to seek re-election Monday.

Also filing to run for the two-year position held by Kilmer, whose district includes Clallam and Jefferson counties, was W. “Greybeard” McPherson of Port Angeles, who stated no party preference.

Incumbent Position 3 state Supreme Court Justice Mary Fairhurst of Tumwater also filed for re-election, as did incumbent Position 4 state Supreme Court Justice Charles Johnson of Olympia and incumbent Position 7 Supreme Court Justice Debra Stephens of Seattle.

Challenger Eddie Yoon of University Place filed for Johnson’s position.

All are six-year terms.

Thurston County Superior Court Judge Lisa Sutton of Olympia also filed for state Court of Appeals, Division 2, District 2 judge, also a six-year term.

Two 24th district legislative seats held by Sequim Democrats Kevin Van De Wege and Steve Tharinger also are on the ballot this year, along with Joyce Robin Hunt’s state Court of Appeals position and four state Supreme Court positions.


Jefferson County Editor Charlie Bermant can be reached at 360-385-2335 or at charlie.bermant@peninsuladailynews.com.

Senior Staff Writer Paul Gottlieb can be reached at 360-452-2345, ext. 5060, or at paul.gottlieb@peninsuladailynews.com.

Last modified: May 12. 2014 6:27PM
Reader Comments
Local Business
Friends to Follow

To register a complaint about a comment, email moderator@peninsuladailynews.com and refer to the article and offending comment, or click here: REPORT ABUSE.

Peninsuladailynews.com comments are subject to the Peninsuladailynews.com User Policy.

From the PDN:

All materials Copyright © 2017 Black Press Ltd./Sound Publishing Inc. • Terms of UsePrivacy PolicyAssociated Press Privacy PolicyAssociated Press Terms of UseContact Us